The first 10 amendments of the United States Constitution are called the Bill of Rights. These amendments were added to the Constitution in 1791 and serve as a fundamental safeguard of individual liberties and rights. The Bill of Rights outlines specific protections for individuals and limits the power of the federal government.
These amendments were designed to protect the basic rights and freedoms of American citizens. It also ensures a system of checks and balances between the government and the people. The Bill of Rights became an integral part of the United States Constitution, guaranteeing fundamental individual liberties and serving as a cornerstone of American democracy.
On September 25, 1789, Congress introduced twelve proposed amendments to the states for ratification. The states’ legislatures debated and considered these amendments. on December 15, 1791, the necessary three-fourths of the states had ratified ten of the proposed amendments. These ten ratified amendments became the Bill of Rights.

Bill of Rights

The Bill of Rights consists of 10 amendments that explicitly guarantee certain rights and protections to US citizens by limiting the power of the federal government. Here, 10 amendments called the Bill of Rights are described below.

First Amendment
Protects freedom of speech, religion, press, assembly, and the right to petition the government.
Second Amendment
Ensures the right of the people to keep and bear arms.
Third Amendment
Prohibits the forced quartering of soldiers in private homes during peacetime without the owner’s consent. During the British period in the US, laws gave British soldiers the right to take over private homes.
Fourth Amendment
The Fourth Amendment protects citizens against unreasonable searches and seizures of private property; requires probable cause for search warrants; prohibits nonspecific search warrants.
Fifth Amendment
Guarantees various rights in criminal cases, including protection against self-incrimination, double jeopardy, and the right to due process.
Sixth Amendment
Provides the right to a fair and speedy trial, the right to confront witnesses, and the right to have legal counsel.
Seventh Amendment
Preserves the right to a jury trial in civil cases that exceed a certain value.
Eighth Amendment
Prohibits cruel and unusual punishment and excessive bail or fines.
Ninth Amendment
States that the enumeration of rights in the Constitution does not deny or disparage other rights retained by the people.
Tenth Amendment
Reserve powers are not delegated to the federal government to the states or the people.
5/5 - (16 votes)

By Mithu Khan

I am a blogger and educator with a passion for sharing knowledge and insights with others. I am currently studying for my honors degree in mathematics at Govt. Edward College, Pabna.